Agenda: 53nd Annual General Meeting

**Chamber of Commerce Serving Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody** 

Time/Date: 5 - 7 p.m., Wednesday, November 13, 2024

Location: Vancouver Golf Club, 771 Austin Avenue, Coquitlam, BC

	Topic	Time	Speaker	Document	Action
	Welcome and Opening Remarks	5:20 pm	Daniel Richardson Chair	-	-
1.	Call to Order, Motion to Adopt Agenda	5:22	D. Richardson	Agenda Package p 1	Motion
2.	Motion to Approve Minutes of 2023 Annual General Meeting	5:23	D. Richardson	Agenda Package p 2-4	Motion
3.	Sponsors Remarks - Garton & Harris - West Coast Iron	5:25	Stuart Ross Ron Partlow	-	-
4.	2024 Report from the Chair	5:32	D. Richardson	2024 Annual Report [LINK]	-
5.	Treasurer's Report:  a. <b>Motion</b> to receive 2023 Audited Financial Statements b. Motion to appoint 2024 Auditor	5:37	Eric Salvador Treasurer	Audited Financial Statements for Year Ended Dec 31, 2023 [LINK]	Motions
6.	<ul> <li>2025 Board Formation</li> <li>a. Motion to appoint Table Officers</li> <li>b. Oath of Office, taken and subscribed by the incoming Chair, Vice Chair, and Treasurer before the Mayor of Coquitlam</li> <li>c. Continuing Directors, terms ending Dec 31, 2025</li> </ul>	5:47	Jenifer Wright Past Chair	2025 Board of Directors & Nominees [LINK]	Motion
7.	2025 Board Directors Election a. Candidate Speeches b. Voting Procedures c. Member Voting & Refreshments	5:50 6:20	J. Wright and Candidates	2025 Board of Directors & Nominees [LINK]	Vote
8.	Election Results Announced and <b>Motion</b> to Destroy Ballots	6:40	J. Wright	-	Motion
9.	Incoming Chair Remarks	6:45	Jennifer McKinnon	-	-
10.	Adjourn & Closing Remarks	6:50	D. Richardson	-	-

# Chamber of Commerce Serving Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody Annual General Meeting Minutes

5 – 7 p.m., Tuesday, November 14, 2023 Vancouver Golf Club, Coquitlam, BC

#### **Attendance**

2023 Directors present: Chris Chong, Mike Forrest, Adel Gamar, Ryan Gorder, Ryan Jamieson, Jennifer McKinnon, Reihaneh Mirjani, Daniel Richardson, Pulkit Sharma, Vivien Symington, Vineet Verghese, Ryan Whittle, Jenifer Wright.

Total Attendees: 93

It was acknowledged this meeting was taking place on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the kwikweldem First Nation.

Call to Order – Jenifer Wright, Chair
 Meeting was called to order at 5:29 p.m. Quorum confirmed.

Motion to Approve the 2023 Annual General Meeting Agenda.

Moved A. Gamar, Seconded R. Whittle, CARRIED.

 Motion to Approve Minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting. Moved G. Garrison, Seconded J. McKinnon, CARRIED.

3. Remarks from presenting sponsors Coquitlam Foundation, Port Coquitlam Community Foundation, Port Moody Foundation.

# 4. Chair's Report - Jenifer Wright

J. Wright referenced the 2023 Annual Report which is included in the AGM package. She highlighted the Chamber's membership is now at an all-time high of more than 1,100 member organizations, with thanks to the Downtown Port Coquitlam Business Improvement Association (BIA) for its membership partnership with the Chamber, and that the Austin Heights BIA is in the process of signing on with us as well. She acknowledged the difficult economic climate and stressed the importance of the Chamber's advocacy work, in partnership with the BC and Canadian Chambers of Commerce. She highlighted the Chamber's commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion, and the partnership with the Canadian Chamber to host the Inclusive Growth Dialogue event in October, and the Women in Business committee's International Women's Day luncheon. She stressed the importance of the Chamber's Tri-Cities Young Professionals (TCYP) to ensure the strong future of the Chamber. She encouraged participation on Chamber committees and the Chamber board, thanks current and outgoing board members, and staff.

# 5. Treasurer's Report - Ryan Gorder, Treasurer

R. Gorder spoke to his report as provided in the AGM package. R. Gorder thanked the Chamber's auditors Clearline CPA.

## Motion to accept the 2022 Audited Financial Statements

Moved A. Gamar, Seconded D. Richardson, CARRIED.

Motion to appoint Clearline CPA as the external auditors for the 2023 Fiscal Year. Moved V. Symington, Seconded J. McKinnon, CARRIED.

## 6. 2024 Board Formation - Ryan Whittle, Past Chair

R. Whittle presented the list of candidates for the 2024 Board of Directors. The Nominations Committee is responsible for submitting at least one nominee for the offices of Chair, Vice-Chairs, Treasurer, and nominees for the position of Director.

As per 6.02 of the Bylaws, there shall be no right to vote by proxy, and no member who is not in good standing shall be allowed to vote.

The positions for Table Officers for 2024 were presented as a complete slate: Chair – Daniel Richardson. Vice-Chair – Jennifer McKinnon, Treasurer – Eric Salvador, Past Chair – Jenifer Wright.

# Motion to appoint the nominated slate of Table Officers for 2024.

Moved R. Gorder, Seconded G. Garrison, CARRIED.

#### 7. Oath of Office – Incoming Chair and Vice Chair

Oath of Office taken in front of the Mayors present by 2023 Chair Jenifer Wright and Vice-Chair Daniel Richardson.

# 8. 2024 Continuing Board Directors – second year of term

R. Whittle extended thanks to continuing Board Directors, entering the second-year of their two-year term: Chris Chong, Mike Forrest, Reihaneh Mirjani, Pulkit Sharma, Vivien Symington.

#### 9. 2024 Board Election for five Board Director positions, two-year term

R. Whittle presented the nominees for election, as approved by the Nominations Committee: Vicky Chen, Joe Deobald, Sunny Dharni, Adel Gamar, Ryan Jamieson, Katherine Kim, Justin Levine, Elizabeth Molnarova, Navid Morawej, Jessica Prasad, Stathis Savvis, Devin Sharma.

Each nominee spoke for one minute to introduce themselves.

#### **Voting Procedures**

R. Whittle reviewed voting procedures for in-person and online attendees. M. Vellani announced the commencement of voting and appointed three members to serve as election scrutineers: Vanessa Wideski, Catherine Stewart, Dennis Zaragoza.

#### 10. Announcement of Election Results

R. Whittle announced the candidates elected for a two-year term with the Board of Directors, starting January 1, 2024: Adel Gamar, Ryan Jamieson, Katherine Kim, Justin Levine, Devin Sharma.

## Motion to destroy all ballots.

Moved V. Symington, Seconded, CARRIED.

R. Whittle congratulated the elected and re-elected board members and thanked all those who put their name forward.

# 11. Incoming Chair's Remarks - Daniel Richardson

D. Richardson acknowledged the excellent slate of candidates for election this year, and encouraged everyone to continue to be involved. He stated he is honored to be incoming Chair, and looks forward to supporting the CEO and Chamber team as they continue to deliver exceptional services to members and the business community. He thanks Jenifer Wright for her excellent leadership in 2023. He extended congratulations to newly elected and re-elected board directors, and thanked everyone who serves on Chamber committees and as Ambassadors. He thanked members in attendance tonight for being engaged and ensuring the Tri-Cities Chamber of Commerce has a bright future. Financial support is also so important, and he thanked sponsors for ensuring the Chamber's viability. He stressed the importance of the Chamber's role in supporting the business community and wished everyone a prosperous 2024.

#### 12. Closing Remarks and Meeting Adjourned – J. Wright

Meeting adjourned at 7:10 p.m.